Cannot run Kotlin Application in Eclipse

I cannot run Kotlin code from Eclipse. Eclipse always says “Error: Could not find or load main class …”. Even with this simple code:

class Foo {
}

fun main(args: Array<String>) {
}

I use version 0.8.2.v20170314-0957 of the Kotlin plugin in Eclipse Neon (4.6.3).

I’m brand new to Kotlin - I’m a longtime Eclipse and Java user. If Kotlin is to be successful, it needs to run (and well) on Eclipse. So I downloaded Eclipse Oxygen (4.7.0) for Mac OSX. Then installed the Kotlin feature from the Eclipse marketplace. It installed 5 plugins, provider is JetBrains, Version is 0.8.2.v20170314-0957. I created a Kotlin project, added a source file with your code (with an added println(“Hello World”) inside main( ). It ran fine, although I still don’t understand exactly how the Run thing works. The program runs under the “Java Application” category in the run configurations dialog. What is a Kotlin Script Launch Configuration?

Which brings up bigger questions - is JetBrains committed to making Kotlin work well in Eclipse? How and where do we programmers get support? Is the Eclipse plug-in open source? Can we contribute to it? Inquiring minds would like to know.

TIA for whoever addresses these issues.

1 Like

Maybe you have to add Kt to the main class name, in the case of the OP, it should be FooKt.

Anyway, sooner or later, you probably want to switch to gradle (via buildship) or maven etc. anyway to run your programs.

The eclipse plugin is limited (e.g. limited support for templates) but usable. YMMV