Combining "Incompatible" Contexts for Coroutines?

I am a relatively naive kotlin developer originating for java, currently kicking the tires a bit on coroutines to understand its capabilities. In short, it seems there are some situations in which the contexts do not combine successfully, though no error is thrown.

One point of immediate personal interest in coroutines is the maintenance of Thread Local contexts, where the worker thread may be pooled or highly dynamic, in the case of MDC context, for example. This code attempts to use a context interceptor to synchronise a trivial thread local when a coroutine “resumes”.

sample code (trivial).

Given:

// just an executor with two threads and a blocking backing queue
val dispatchExecutor: ExecutorService = ThreadPoolExecutor(
    2, 2, 0L, TimeUnit.MILLISECONDS, ArrayBlockingQueue(20), Executors.defaultThreadFactory())

// the thread local I want to maintain
val threadInt = ThreadLocal<Int>()

// an interceptor 
class InterceptingContext(val threadContextInt: Int)
  : AbstractCoroutineContextElement(ContinuationInterceptor), ContinuationInterceptor {

override fun <T> interceptContinuation(continuation: Continuation<T>): Continuation<T> {
    val ctx = continuation.context
    return ThreadContinuation(ctx.fold(continuation, { cont, element ->
        if (element != this@InterceptingContext && element is ContinuationInterceptor)
            element.interceptContinuation(cont) else cont
    }))
}

private inner class ThreadContinuation<in T>(val continuation: Continuation<T>) : Continuation<T> by continuation {
    override fun resume(value: T) {
        threadInt.set(threadContextInt)
        continuation.resume(value)
        threadInt.remove()
    }

override fun resumeWithException(exception: Throwable) {
        threadInt.set(threadContextInt)
        continuation.resumeWithException(exception)
        threadInt.remove()
    }
  }
}

Attempt one using only dispatcher context:

fun main(args: Array<String>) {