Companion Objects

Hi,

Can someone please explain to me in details what is companion object! I have been following a course about Kotlin from A - Z and when the instructor reached the companion object I didn’t understand anything and I had to skip all lessons related to companion objects

Please don’t compare it to Java as I have no experience in java

Thanks.

1 Like

If you understand static, you don’t need to read the rest of my answer.
Everything in companion object are functionally equivalent to static methods/variables

A class is a blueprint for creating objects.
For example, let’s create a couple of carObjects:

class Car(val color: Color, var owner: String){
    fun drive() =TODO()

}

fun main(vararg args : String){
    val carObject1 = Car(Color.Red, "foo")
    val carObject2 = Car(Color.Blue, "bar")

}

when you use the keyword object, you say that you don’t need the blueprint, but immediately want the created object. You say this when you never need to have more than one object of that blueprint. An example would be settings for your program. You can make the object implement interfaces or extend a class.

a companion-object is a bit a combination of both worlds.
As you see in the car-class, there is a drive-method. This method belongs to the objects that you create.

carObject1.drive()  //you drove in carObject1
carObject2.drive()  //you drove in carObject2

But it is possible you want to have an object that every car shares. Because you don’t need a blueprint//class you use object. This object however belongs to the bluePrint car. Then you use a do called companion-object. In other words, an object that comes with the blueprint.

An example:

class Car{
    companion object{
          fun build() = Car()
    }

}

This is called as

Car.build()

The most important reason why I use this is to have shared variables or to create an dsl.

1 Like