Compile time reflection/type checks for class fields

Hi, I’m new to Koltin and I’m looking for a way to perform some compile-type checks that I’ve ben using in C++.

The simplest possible example is having these classes

class Foo(val f1: String)
class Bar(val f1: String)
class Baz(val f1: Boolean)

and I’d like to check that Foo::f1 and Bar::f1 and Baz::f1 use the same type at compile time.

I can write

fun <T : Any> compileCheck(a: KClass<T>, b: KClass<T>) { }

and when I use e.g. compileCheck(String::class, String::class) and compileCheck(String::class, Boolean::class) it works as excepted, i.e. the first is fine and the second fails to build.

But I don’t know how to pass Foo::f1 and Bar::f1 and Baz::f1 to compileCheck(). I can get KProperty but not KClass.

I’m sure the answer is obvious but I’ve been scratching my head and searching the internet for a while now.

This isn’t what we usually do in JVM languages. But if you really want to do this, then you can use a very similar code to your own:

fun <T> compileCheck(a: KProperty1<*, T>, b: KProperty1<*, T>) { }

Unfortunately, V param of KProperty1 is covariant, so above code will work without problems for conflicting types - it will infer T to Any. I believe right now there is no official way to prevent this behavior, but considering that you do “weird stuff” already, you can use a workaround here.

Create kotlin/internal/Annotations.kt file with this contents:

package kotlin.internal

@Target(AnnotationTarget.TYPE)
@Retention(AnnotationRetention.BINARY)
internal annotation class Exact

Use above annotation to disable upcasting of T:

fun <T> compileCheck(a: KProperty1<*, @Exact T>, b: KProperty1<*, @Exact T>) { }

Result:

fun main() {
    compileCheck(Foo::f1, Bar::f1) // ok
    compileCheck(Foo::f1, Baz::f1) // compile error
}
2 Likes

What would you need that for? Can you provide an example?

Thanks @broot, that did the trick!