Constants Class

(I’m still learning the language, it’s just a couple of days ago I started). In Java land I generally write constants class in this fashion:

public final class ColumnLengths {
    public static final int EMAIL = 128;
    public static final int ENUM = 10;
    public static final int PRINCIPAL_LENGTH = 64;
    private ColumnLengths() {
    }
}

When I use the Kotlin converter I get:

object ColumnLengths {
    val EMAIL = 128
    val ENUM = 10
    val NAME = 256
    val PRINCIPAL_LENGTH = 64
}

My questions on the result are:

• is this the most optimal way to represent a constants class in Kotlin?
  • does this prevent instantiation and inheritance (I had prevented it on Java by using a final class and private constructor)

Perhaps in terms of language design I am thinking we should have a more well defined construct for this since for me constant classes are a common pattern. However do not make them equivalent to utility classes that have executable methods. I was thinking of

val object ColumnLengths {
    EMAIL = 128
    ENUM = 10
    NAME = PRINCIPAL_LENGTH * 2
    PRINCIPAL_LENGTH = 64
}

The key thing I want to point out when it does the parsing is that it needs to resolve the order on its own. This is one of the flaws in Java in that if you “sort” the names and one needs the value of another constant below it will error out.

Since the above constant class is not open and can never be open it should as part of compilation step do a graph internally to ensure that the values are set in the right order and determine if there are any cycles in which case the compiler will error out.

The ‘object’ keyword in Kotlin creates a singleton.

So it’s not possible to create any further instances of your ColumnLengths object. Nor is it possible to inherit from it.