Coroutines cannot sum large number ranges right

I am running some very simple code based on the kotlin coroutine examples at https://kotlinlang.org/docs/tutorials/coroutines/coroutines-basic-jvm.html

Kotlin coroutine sum numbers properly up to a point and then fail. It works on summing 1…10,000 but fails on 1…100,000 and above. The sample code page says for summing 1…1,000,000: " Now it prints something sensible: 1784293664 , because all coroutines complete."

But that is very wrong.

1 to 1,000,000 is:
499,999 * 1,000,000 + 500,000 + 1,000,000 = 500,000,500,000

My environment is Intellij on a Mac running openjdk (jdk-12.0.2.jdk) and kotlin plugin 1.3.41-release-IJ2019.2-1 with the kotlinx-coroutines-core-1.1.1.jar. I am producing java 12 bytecode and using the kotlin 1.3 compiler.

Code below outputs:
Sum 1…1,000,000 (this kotlin coroutine answer is wrong): 1784293664
simple loop method 1…1,000,000 (correct answer)= 500000500000

So what is going wrong? I am new to kotlin and so wonder if I have made an error.

Here is the code:

package unleashbts

import kotlinx.coroutines.*
import java.util.concurrent.atomic.AtomicLong

fun main() {

val deferred = (1..1_000_000).map { n ->
    GlobalScope.async {
        n
    }
}

runBlocking {
    val sum = deferred.sumBy { it.await() }
    println("Sum 1..1,000,000 (this kotlin coroutine answer is wrong): $sum")
}

//alternative for loop
val d = AtomicLong()
for (j in 1..1_000_000L)
{
    d.addAndGet(j)
}
println("simple loop method 1..1,000,000 (correct answer)=  ${d.get()}")

}

sumBy works on Int values. You need to use sumByDouble.

I see now it is out of the integer range, but just trying sumByDouble causes other problems with the example code. Must be some other way to do it right. Just a bad example, I guess.

val sum = deferred.sumByDouble { it.await().toDouble() }.toLong()