Data classes vs value-based clasess

I’m quite new to both Java and Kotlin (I’ve got C# background) and I’ve learned of a Java concept of Value-based Classes that is realized in some standard Java Class Library types (i.e. java.time.ZonedDateTime). I believe this is something roughly similar in purpose to C#'s structs and can be used to model small domain types.

Now Kotlin’s data classes with all-val props seem to perfectly fit all the value-based class requirements but one: instantiation via factory methods instead of constructors. The factory method approach allows some optimization where popular instances of a value-based classes can be cached and re-used (correct me if I’m wrong), and this also justifies the other requirement about value-based equality as opposed to reference-based equality. So how do I achieve that with a data class in Kotlin (private ctors + factory methods)?

I wanted to make data class’s primary constructor private to hide its constructor, but IDEA pops out and warns me:

Data class must have all pros defined in its primary constructor, the primary constructor is required not private because the generated copy() method will expose its primary constructor. Data class can’t hide all its constructors.
I always treat data class as something that sounds not bad but never works well. I suggest you not pay so much attention into data class. If you want a value-base class, just write it as how you write with Java.

Kotlins data classes are indeed a good fit for “value based” classes as described on the page you’ve linked. However technically value classes are not value types, what would be a struct in C#. Kotlin’s value classes are still reference types and not something like an Int or so. This may change with Java 10, when value types should be introduced to the JVM.

To the point of @CNife: You can declare the constructor of a value class private and provide a factory method:

>>> data class Point private constructor(val x: Int, val y: Int) {