Default getter/setter versus normal function in Kotlin

Hi, I am very new to Kotlin, probably two weeks ago, I would not even have guessed myself developing softwares other than in Java. Guessed now who I am?

Here is my question.

public class Hello {

val name: String
    get() = "Hi"

fun getName():String {
    return "Hi"
}

}

I know this will give you compile time error. But I would be happy to have a function getName() that looks easy to invoke than property ‘name’ which has custom getter like the above. Please help me understand why i should go for custom getters and setters, and when i would be using hard-core functions.

Thanks,
Abu A

There is a section at the end of the Kotlin Coding Conventions which says this:

"In some cases functions with no arguments might be interchangeable with read-only properties. Although the semantics are similar, there are some stylistic conventions on when to prefer one to another.

Prefer a property over a function when the underlying algorithm:

• does not throw
  • has a O(1) complexity
  • is cheap to calculate (or caсhed on the first run)
  • returns the same result over invocations"

So, the answer here is that you should prefer the name property to a getName() method.

Incidentally, you could simplify the property to just this:

public class Hello {
    val name = "Hi"
}

This initializes it, infers its type to be String and creates a default getter.

This version creates instance attribute.

This version creates only getter.

But both will be invoked in the same manner, i.e Hello().name right?

Looking outward when there is no access to the source code, developers may not know whether its just a instance attribute or just getter. Is there any way we can find it if the source is not open?

The algorithm seems to be same for all languages. When its cheap to calculate or same result over multiple invocations, all language prefers to property I guess. Thanks @alanfo

Yes, this doesn’t change the public interface.