Embedded images (files) in Kotlin JS (MPP)

Hi all,

I’m trying really hard to embed an image into kotlin JS library bundle. Summary: I’m developing a chart library for a list of platforms (JVM, Android, JS) with kotlin MPP. Have been quite successful so far, but now I need to find a way to use images while rendering (in my case - UI icons, in future also fonts), so I need to somehow embed the icons (png, byte sequences) into the bundle. Also need to warn you, I’m really a newbie with JS and not always can tell if I’m doing something correct.

First about the project setup.

kotlin version: 1.4.30

JS compiler: IR

jsMain dependencies:

implementation(kotlin("stdlib-js"))
                implementation("org.jetbrains.kotlinx:kotlinx-html-js:$kotlinxHtmlVersion")
                implementation(npm("is-mobile", "3.0.0"))
                implementation(npm("url-loader", "4.1.1"))
                implementation(npm("file-loader", "6.2.0"))
                implementation("org.jetbrains:kotlin-react:16.13.1-pre.113-kotlin-1.4.0")
                implementation("org.jetbrains:kotlin-react-dom:16.13.1-pre.113-kotlin-1.4.0")

webpack config:

config.module.rules.push({
    test: [/\.bmp$/, /\.gif$/, /\.jpe?g$/, /\.png$/],
    use: [
          {
            loader: 'url-loader',
            options: {
              limit: false,
              encoding: true,
              name: '[name].[ext]',
            },
          },
    ],
});

config.module.rules.push({
    exclude: [
     /\.html$/,
                                   /\.(js|jsx)$/,
                                   /\.css$/,
                                   /\.json$/,
                                   /\.bmp$/,
                                   /\.gif$/,
                                   /\.jpe?g$/,
                                   /\.png$/,
                                 ],
                                 loader: require.resolve('file-loader'),
                                 options: {