How can I create my own compiler backend?

Hey there!
I’ve only used Kotlin for 2 weeks and I have no former experience with Java/JVM, when I’m trying to do research on this topic on my own, I stumble upon many keywords I’m not familiar with. I hope you’ll be able to help :).
So I would like to create my own Kotlin backend, which would output a new, not supported by default language - my choice is Lua. While I know something about compiler design, I completely don’t know where to start in Kotlin.
From what I understand, the best way to start would be to create a gradle plugin, so I could tell it to compile into Lua like that:

kotlin {
    lua {
        // etc...
    }
}

I have completely no idea how to make it run my custom compiler (assuming I already have one) from build.gradle.kts.

Now as to the compiler itself… Kotlin compiler is pretty complicated. Maybe instead of making my own compiler from scratch, I could use existing JS IR compiler.
What steps need to be done, to move the entire IR JS compiler into a custom gradle plugin?
Also, instead of duplicating js frontend and js backend, maybe I could run the compiler with just the last codegen step replaced? The classes which translate JS AST to actual javascript file.
But I have no idea where to even start :slight_smile:. How to programatically run the compiler pipeline for a given directory, then wait until the last (JS) compiling step and use my class instead of it?
Is there documentation for kotlin-compiler-embedded or any guides? Both on making gradle and compiler plugins.

Any help would be appreciated D:

2 Likes

A Lua backend would be pretty neat. Making a backend is definitely a challenge but there is at least one example of a community-made backend, this one is for Python: [Idea] Python backend. See that discussion for links to the Slack channels and repos.