I don't understand

I don’t understand what is the “compile time constants” ?

I mean what is the difference between :

val name:String = “Bebo”
const val name2:String = “Bebo”

name + name is compiled as "Bebo" .concat( "Bebo" ) (*)
name2 + name2 is compiled as BeboBebo

name is a non modifiable reference to a String
name2 is a constant that can be evaluated at compile time

(*) it is a bit more complex

2 Likes

Sry I really didn’t get xD I’m still learning

I mean what is the difference between
Compile time initialization
And
Run time initialization

The difference is super minor so I wouldn’t worry about it too much. The difference is as fvasco tried to explain that constants are known at compile time. That means that if you have operations like string concatenation or addition, etc for numbers the compiler can calculate the result of those operations at compile time and just add the result in the generated bytecode.
If you don’t use constants the compiler won’t calculate the result of those operations ahead of time and just generate the bytecode to execute the operation when you need the result.

That said those kind of optimizations don’t have any (noticeable) effect on performance, so const isn’t used for this. In my experience it is mostly used to hard code database keys, file extensions, etc.
It doesn’t have a real effect on your program. It’s just a way of saying: “This val will never change (not even in an update to the program)”

If you are still confused I would suggest to not use const. You can always add const later, but if you are writing libraries there might be problems with removing the keyword.

1 Like

Thx bro but I still a little confused

Correct me if I wrong

If I write this code :

var x:Int = 10
var z:Int = x

If I compile my program the compiler will not add the value 10 to Varibale z but it will add it
After I execute my program only.

And if I write this code :

const val x:Int = 10
var z:Int = 10