In Kotlin, can a function return either String or Int?

I’m a beginner to Kotlin, most familiar with Python.

Coming from a dynamically typed language, I became curious with this.
In Kotlin, can a function return either one of multiple types?
For example, can a function return either Int or String type?
+ assuming same function signature (i.e., function name and parameter types), so that we can’t do function overloading

It seems this is also not possible in Java.
Is there something like Union[Int, String]? (which is type hinting from Python 3),
or is there any workaround to it?

1 Like

See this thread for the discussion about union types: Union types

1 Like

I’m interested in this as well and browsed through the thread … and I didn’t get what the conclusion of the discussion is and how one would emulate union types in Kotlin. Any pointers?

The following works but is not typesafe:

fun test(n: Int): Any = if (n >= 0) n else "$n is negative"

How to implement test in a typesafe way?

Thanks for the reply. So the Union types are currently not supported. I currently can’t really come up with a use case why I would need such kind of function, it was just purely theoretical. But is there actually a workaround to emulate this behavior, other than union types?

I also thought of defining a function with return type Any and saw that it works, but I guess this would be considered as a terrible design.

You can use sealed classes, please check official documentation here.

For example, you can write something like this:

sealed class TestResult {
     class Int(val value: Int): TestResult()

class String(val value: String): TestResult()
}

fun test(n: Int): TestResult = if (n >= 0) TestResult.Int(n) else TestResult.String("$n is negative")

Next you can use when clause to check all possible types in compile type.

5 Likes