Is this a good interface for a simple class?

I made a class that caches and downloads a string. I know that Kotlin is all about succinctness and I’m fairly new to Kotlin, so I don’t have the “muscle memory” yet to know if this is how such a class would be instantiated and used.

Class:

class Cacher (
    private val appl: Application,
    private val cacheKey: String,
    private val url: String,
) {
    suspend fun get(): String? {
        [...]
    }
}

Usage:

val s = Cacher(
    requireActivity().application,
    "example_cache",
    "https://example.com"
).get()

API is pretty simple, so it is hard to make it more idiomatic. My two cents are related to OOP in general.

1. It feels like a pretty heavy thing for just downloading a single string. You could consider creating a single cacher object that has a map key->url and then you use it like this:

cacher.get("example_cache")

2. If you want to keep it as it is, then I think this class really performs two unrelated things that could/should be separated: downloading with HTTP; and caching with suspending and synchronization. You could consider creating a more generic function for suspendable caching like this:

fun <T> suspendLazy(init: suspend () -> T): SuspendLazy<T> { TODO() }

interface SuspendLazy<T> {
    suspend fun get(): T
}

Then you can use it directly, ignoring your Cacher class entirely:

val cachedString = suspendLazy { http.get("https://example.com") }

Or you can create cacher on top of it:

fun cacher(appl: Application, cacheKey: String, url: String) = suspendLazy { http.get(url) }

You could also consider not creating SuspendLazy interface, but reusing Deferred. It is a little different as it allows to cancel the execution, so depending on your case it may be good or bad thing.

Also, do you really need Application there? Isn’t Context enough?

1 Like