Is top-level file scope analogous to class scope?

I’m a long-time Java dev who is learning Kotlin.

Kotlin appears to be making a push for using top-level properties and functions, so I’m trying to get a feel for them. After some frustration, I have an insight that helps me think about top-level scope. I thought I’d share that insight – or at least present it for correction.

It seems that the top level scope is analogous to class scope. That is, I can expect visibility within the file to behave as if the contents of the file were wrapped in its own class.

Am I correct in this thinking? I’m trying to figure out how to think about files and top-level members so that I can properly design for them.

My frustration started with trying to create top-level factory methods for classes that should not be instantiated outside of the file. After all, I was supposed to be using top-level methods instead of static methods in Kotlin, where possible, right? I tried to make the class constructors private or protected and yet use them in the top-level methods. But that doesn’t work. I had to create a companion object for the factory methods instead.

How should I think about file scope in general? Thanks for your help!

~joe

Private top level functions are only accessible from within that file. Public once are accessible everywhere and they are scoped within the package.

package foo.bar
fun test() = TODO()

// different file
foo.bar.test() 

So in that way I don’t think the class analogy fits for public functions perfectly. For private functions it’s spot on.
Also if you look at the generated bytecode, kotlin creates a class for each file putting all top level functions and properties into that class as statics. So looking at it that way you analogy is perfect :wink: