Kotlin and Dyslexia

I have mild dyslexia although I am not sure to know how to categorise levels of dyslexia and when statistics says that 20% of the population is dyslexic and some researchers says that one of the fields dyslexic perform well is software development and software architecture also does not tells what level of dyslexia could be too high to invalidate that statement. Saying that, I love programming and I work as a FullStack developer .

Kotlin is becoming my favorite language (plain vanilla JavaScript is still at the top) but I must rant about the fact that it has some design decisions that are really “dyslexia unfriendly”. I only report the one for me obviously unfriendly and maybe some people can add to it.

1. var and val: this a source of endless struggle. Those are virtually identical and my dyslexic brain stalls. Before even attempting to evaluate that var is close to variable to make the right decision I have often already choose one or the other to be eventually corrected few seconds later or let the IDE warning me about trying to reassign a value to a (mmhh should I now use val or var…) val ! Yes I got it right !.

Not to mention that if I was Japanese this problem would be amplified by the fact that pronunciation of val and var are flattening the differences even more.

2: when & with : same stalling problem . Semantically so clear the difference but the time lag needed for the dyslexic brain to differentiate them interfere with a “smooth” flow which cause often arbitrary choices to be corrected later.

3: lambdas, lambdas with params, object callbacks: This the worst. The visual identifiable block of code is very difficult to frame or when lambda expression are typed in a single line (input parameters separated by an arrow, not return statement… what a nightmare).