Kotlin Multiplatform native executable using dlopen+dlsym

I have a native launcher written in C for my Java application. I am trying to rewrite the launcher in Kotlin Native. I found this nice example code that links to libjvm so that you can call the JNI invocation API from Kotlin. However, the generated native executable then ends up with a libjvm dependency baked in, which my current native launcher does not have; rather, it has various heuristics to discover and select the best available libjvm, and then load it via dlopen and access it dynamically via dlsym.

I was not able to find a Kotlin Multiplatform example that uses dlopen+dlsym in this way, to avoid baking in a shared library dependency into the compiled binary. Could someone point me in the right direction? I know Java well but I’m rather new to Kotlin, and pretty bad at C. :sweat_smile:

My first attempt can be found here: GitHub - ctrueden/java-launcher: [EXPERIMENTAL] Native executable to launch Java in the same process

I decided to make the Kotlin/C interop interface much simpler by building a tiny shared library in C that uses dlopen/dlsym to work with libjvm, exposing only a single function launch_java(char *libjvm_path, int jvm_argc, char *jvm_argv[], char *main_class_name, int main_argc, char *main_argv[]), then wrap that C library to KMP using C interop. What I have so far can be found here. It almost works on my Linux system, but I’m seeing errors at link time:

./libjaunch.so: error: undefined reference to 'dlerror', version 'GLIBC_2.34'
./libjaunch.so: error: undefined reference to 'dlclose', version 'GLIBC_2.34'
./libjaunch.so: error: undefined reference to 'dlopen', version 'GLIBC_2.34'
./libjaunch.so: error: undefined reference to 'dlsym', version 'GLIBC_2.34'