Lazy MutableStateFlow

I need to change state in @Composable without its recomposition.

val state by viewModel.state.collectAsState()

LaunchedEffect(currentValue) {
    if (currentValue == Done) viewModel.state.value = null
}

The way I thought about is something like to split variables:

val state = Done
val stateFlow by MutableStateFlow(state)

But not sure it should work this way. So, what the current methods to solve the problem? Have no answers from SOF.

I’m pretty new to Jetpack Compose myself, but I’m pretty sure that’s specifically going against the design of Jetpack Compose. State changes are meant to trigger a recompose. If you want state that doesn’t trigger a recompose, I think you just use it as a normal variable and don’t register it inside Jetpack Compose (IE don’t use mutableStateOf { ... } or whatever).

Also this may help: https://www.jetpackcompose.net/state-in-jetpack-compose

Dunno if you’ve seen these; for whatever reason, I found it very hard to find this site when I was getting into Jetpack Compose, but it’s got so much useful information!

3 Likes

The main goal is to show BottomSheet only when the item is selected.

You’re gonna have to provide me with more info, like samples of your code or something. I don’t know what BottomSheet is, or what items are being selected.

Sorry, it’s from Android. The original question is here. It’s big, so I shouldn’t copy it here.

Sorry, I don’t know enough about Android or Jetpack Compose to help from that amount of code. If you’ve got a project I can download and tinker with I might be able to help. The only thing that did seem odd at a glance was this:

LaunchedEffect(bottomSheetState.currentValue) {
    if (bottomSheetState.currentValue == SheetValue.Hidden ) {
        viewModel.selectItem(null)
    }
}

if (selectedItem == null) {
    LaunchedEffect(bottomSheetState.currentValue) { bottomSheetState.hide() }
}