Log statement unable to print

I’m fairly new to Kotlin, coming from Java. But to give some background information, I’m building an object detection application (in Kotlin , for Android). The application uses CameraX to build a camera preview and Google ML to provide machine learning expertise. Just for reference; I used this CameraX documentation and this this Google ML Kit documentation.

My issue today revolves around Step 4 of the Google ML documentation, which provides steps for both Kotlin and Java users. I’m currently attempting to print Log.d("TAG", "onSuccess" + it.size) to my Android Studio console in order to determine if .addonSuccessListener is actually running. If it does, it should print something along the lines of onSuccess1 . However, I’m not even entirely sure the following code is even running. Would anybody happen to know why?

objectDetector
                    .process(image)
                    .addOnSuccessListener {
                        Log.d("TAG", "onSuccess" + it.size) //I want this to print
                        for (detectedObject in it)
                        {
                            val boundingBox = detectedObject.boundingBox
                            val trackingId = detectedObject.trackingId
                            for (label in detectedObject.labels) {
                                val text = label.text
                                val index = label.index
                                val confidence = label.confidence
                            }
                        }
                    }

If more code from this class is required to resolve this problem, I’ve formatted it all into this Pastebin link. Any further information required to resolve this problem will be provided upon request.

I’m not an Android developer, so maybe I’m wrong, but I believe debug log level is disabled by default on most/some devices. Enable it (search google) or just use Log.i() instead.