Mature web framework suggestion (with good Kotlin interop)

Hi to all
I’m very new to Kotlin, but when I realised what my own code could look like in Kotlin, I immediately felt in love! :wink:

Maybe it’s a common question, but I can’t find exhaustive discussions on this: what’s the recommended web framework to use in companion with Kotlin (read better interop with Kotlin, and maturity)?
For example I never tried Grails, but a lot of people seem to find it one of the most productive framework. I imagine that trying to work with it in Kotlin rather than Groovy could be very hard, is it?

I don’t want to fiddle with immature frameworks though… And I usually prefer a separation between APIs to be consumed by mobile apps and third parties, and web applications (like B2B backends, and so on). But if there’s really a framework that can shine in both aspects, I can give it a try…

PS: please do not suggest Kara, looks promising but I’m not keen on writing everything (even views) with Kotlin… I think that HTML/CSS must be crafted by expert designers, that surely can’t deal with strange Kotlin based views…

Thanks to all!
P.

1 Like

I don’t think there will be a recommended web framework since that’s all personal preference and needs. Some guys from Jetbrains are working hard on GitHub - ktorio/ktor: Framework for quickly creating connected applications in Kotlin with minimal effort. This isn’t mature yet but has a lot of potential.

So if you’re looking for maturity it’s the same for Kotlin as for Java. I do feel that any framework that’s code oriented (as apposed to annotation oriented) works better in modern languages like Kotlin. So for me Spring is no option, that feels old-fashioned. I’d rather use http://sparkjava.com because I prefer the straightforward approach. It let’s you hook common template engines easily Documentation - Spark Framework: An expressive web framework for Kotlin and Java

1 Like

Thanks, these are definitely good points!