Missing module on multiplatform project

Why in a fresh created project androidMain and androidTest are not shown as modules?
I can see them if I switch to Project view, but from AndroidView are not recognized as modules.

Yeah it’s a visual issue. The module is there and works just fine, it’s just not highlighted in the IJ IDEA Project Structure!

have a look here

I know it’s just a visibility issue, but it hurts me a lot!
And I’ve read your answer before, but as I’m a newbie on android, gradle and multiplatform projects, I don’t know how to apply your workaround :sweat_smile:

1 Like

Add this to your build.gradle.kts:

android {
    sourceSets.all {
        java.srcDirs(file("src/android${name.capitalize()}/kotlin"))
        res.srcDirs(file("src/android${name.capitalize()}/res"))
        resources.srcDirs(file("src/android${name.capitalize()}/resources"))
        manifest.srcFile(file("src/android${name.capitalize()}/AndroidManifest.xml"))
    }
}

It will add src/androidMain/kotlin, src/androidMain/res, src/androidMain/resources to your project, as well for androidTest and or whatever flavor you have!

1 Like

mmm. It adds me a “java” source folder with the source code, not “androidMain” and “androidTest” as modules.

I notice another thing: If I open the project structure dialog, I cannot open the “modules” section. It displays nothing…

The problem seems that androidMain and androidTest are not recognized as modules. In fact, if I open android studio .iml files, those two projects are missing.

Trust me, they are there. Create the folders and start writing code, IJ IDEA will start working.

As I said in the other thread, all the information about where source code is and how to compile it is declared via Gradle scripts and its plugins. When syncing, IntelliJ basically tries to understand how you set up the plugins and builds a UI to let you understand that model.