Modifier to opt-out of null safety

Null safety is a nice feature, BUT it is annoying it is obligatory with no easy way to opt-out.

Let’s say I am ready to take the responsibility for variable initializing. Now I have to repeat !! all the time I am dealing with the variable, I would say it is quite annoying :frowning:

Apart from that it seems to be badly compatible with android when your objects are nuked at arbitrary time and you cannot gurantee proper initialization. I may be wrong here, I am not an android expert, but I have just created a hello world project from template in the recent Android studio and I see that code is scattered with fragments like:

private var _binding: FragmentSlideshowBinding? = null

// This property is only valid between onCreateView and
    // onDestroyView.
    private val binding get() = _binding!!

I believe, a special type modifier ‘?!’ could be introduced at language level to avoid these inconveniences. Something like:

private var binding: FragmentSlideshowBinding?! = null

Then one could use varaible at his own risk:

binding.doSomethng() //<-- Usual npe here as in 'good old times'
1 Like

lateinit Properties | Kotlin Documentation is exactly for that.

Not quite.

Lateinit modifler is not allowed on nullable types, so you cannot re-assign null to the variable.

1 Like

I’m quite sure lateinit covers all the Android quirks, which are mostly with class member initialization.

Aside from that I don’t see Kotlin adding a way to throw away null-safety which is one of the great improvements over Java.
Most likely your code can be written in a type-safe way without !! or other tricks.

6 Likes

I stronly disagree.

I like that Kotlin authors left a posibility to disable safety checks at programmer discretion. There is ‘!!’ operator and BTW this operator is widely uded in source code of Kotlin itself, which additionaly proves there is a real need for that.