MyClass.class syntax in Kotlin

Hello, is there any syntax in Kotlin to get class from its static name like in Java: {code} Class<MyClass> clazz = MyClass.class; {code} I couldn't figure out how to do this in Kotlin. Expression like MyClass.class causes compilation error and common MyClass requires class object but there is no defined for Java objects.

2 Likes

I join in asking the question. How?

Try this.

fun testClass() {
  val cls = javaClass<String>() // String.class
  println(cls)
}

Or shortly.
//Java
Class<MyClass> clazz = MyClass.class;
// Kotlin
val clazz = javaClass<MyClass>

Yes, and I find this works to get, for example, an SLF4J logger:

``

val LOG : Logger? = LoggerFactory.getLogger(javaClass<Account>)

Thanks, it works fine.

As a beginner, I encountered a similar issue, and end up using a style that seems to be better than the style mentioned a year ago.

val log = LoggerFactory.getLogger(javaClass<Account>()) as Logger

fun doSomthing(){
  log.trace(“test”)  //No need to use log?.trace with “as Logger”
}

(edited)
or

val log = LoggerFactory.getLogger(javaClass<Account>())!!

Old post, sorry about the bump but I’m really new to Kotlin (since 1.0 release some days ago) and I am yet struggling with some basic concepts.

This is the syntax I am currently using for SLF4J / Logback:

class FacturaDAO {
    private val log = LoggerFactory.getLogger(FacturaDAO::class.java)
3 Likes

Yet another bump for this topic. How does it work in this case? There is no class in SomeFile.kt, only a bunch of functions:

// SomeFile.kt
package some.pkg

fun someFun() = 42

fun main(args: Array<String>) {
    SomeFile::class.java    // does not work
    SomeFileKt::class.java  // does not work
    ::class.java            // does not work
}

Still, I would like to get access to the class file (for a call to getResourceAsStream(...)).

5 Likes