Needing to override abstract functions feels awkward

Disclaimer: I am still fairly new to kotlin, however, this is one part of the language where I don’t really understand the idea behind it

This is something I’ve seen multiple time in android dev, but I’ll use an exemple completely removed from android.

Here is a simple interface with a function:

interface ExempleInterface {
    fun toImplement(value: String)
}

I want to use this interface when creating a new simple object, in order to get a proper type def and understand what I need to actually implement

So naturally, my first instinct would be to do this:

val implementedInterface = object: ExempleInterface {
   fun toImplement(value: String) {
        Log.i("FROM_IMPLEMENT", value)
    }
}

But now, kotlin tells me that I need to actually override the toImplement function, and this is where I don’t quite understand the rationale here, what exactly am I overriding ? overriding implies that I am quite literally writting over an existing implementation, except that this isn’t the case !

Removing the function like so:

val implementedInterface = object: ExempleInterface {}

Even tells me Object is not abstract and does not implement abstract member public abstract fun toImplement(value: String), so there is nothing there to begin with, since this is all just purely type defs.

Is there any sources online that actually explains the reasoning behind this ? I couldn’t find any specific about this online, but maybe the kotlin specs actually have the infos I am looking for here :grinning:

2 Likes

Java and Kotlin requires you to add override / @Override modifier, so you don’t accidentally implement/override a method or you don’t accidentally do not override it.

Just let the IDE generate the code for you - it would add override automatically and everything would be fine.

2 Likes