Object reference issue with copy of Data Class instance

I’ve found an interesting behaviour of .copy() method of data class instances. It seems to me there is a bug but I’m new in Kotlin and probably I’m just missing something.

Let’s take an example with two classes: player (holds a collection of cards) and card, which can be discarded from player’s collection. Each card has a reference to the current owner.

data class TestCard(var test : Int = 0) {

var player : TestPlayer? = null

fun discard() {
        if (player != null) {
            if (player?.cards!!.contains(this)) {
                player?.cards!!.remove(this)
            }
        }

this.player = null
    }
}

class TestPlayer {

val cards : MutableList<TestCard> = mutableListOf()

}

and then let’s give some card copies to a player and later discard one of them.

@Test
    fun testDataClassFail() {
        val player = TestPlayer()
        val cardBasic = TestCard()

player.cards.add(cardBasic.copy())

player.cards.forEach {
            it.player = player
        }

//check that objects are different
        assertFalse{ player.cards[0] === player.cards[1] } // pass

player.cards[1].discard()

assertEquals(1, player.cards.size) // pass
        assertNotNull(player.cards[0].player) // fail!
    }

For some reason, when modifying the second card in the list, we automatically modify the first one. It’s a mystery to me why it happens. I’m using this inside .discard(), which must guarantee modification of only one object.

I suppose that the issue is somewhere under the hood of data class instances equality. If we make the copies unequal in terms of .equal() in-built method, the issue disappears:

@Test
    fun testDataClassPass() {
        val player = TestPlayer()
        val cardBasic = TestCard()

player.cards.forEach {
            it.player = player
        }

// make data class objects unequal
        player.cards[0].test = 0
        player.cards[1].test = 1

//check that objects are different