Pure kotlin with all non-null types - runtime NPE (IllegalArgumentException: Parameter specified as non-null is null) still possible?

Hi, I’ve distilled a strange case I found in our code base to a simple example of some Kotlin code which the compiler seems happy with but results in unsafe code:

class Foo(val i: Bar = bar)
class Bar()

val foo: Foo = Foo()
val bar: Bar = Bar()

fun main(args: Array<String>) {
    println("hi")
}

Running this main method results in:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Parameter specified as non-null is null: method com.noumenadigital.util.Foo.<init>, parameter i
	at Foo.<init>(ScratchPad.kt)
	at Foo.<init>(ScratchPad.kt:3)
	at ScratchPadKt.<clinit>(ScratchPad.kt:6)

I’m relatively new to Kotlin so may have missed discussion on this already but googling didn’t produce anything interesting.

I can understand that compromises are required to provide smooth interoperability with Java and that runtime NPEs are possible when crossing the boundary between Kotlin and Java. But it’s disconcerting if the null-safety aspect of the (pure) Kotlin type system is unsound.

Just to be clear, I understand the mechanism causing this to happen and I understand how to fix it in this trivial case (by re-ordering the declarations) and I understand that the above code may not be good Kotlin style. But a hole in the type system is a hole in the type system regardless?

2 Likes

Does this work if you change your code slightly to

class Foo(val i: Bar = Bar())
class Bar()

println("hi")
}

and does it work if you swap the order of bar and foo vars

class Bar()

println("hi")
}

I think this might be an ordering problem. I think Kotlin initializes in order. So on var foo: Foo = Foo() it goes to use var bar which hasn’t been initialized yet. You could probably find out pretty easy by decompiling the byte code to java and looking at what it does.

Hi dmstocking, thanks for replying.