StringBuilder.indices not updated after char removal

Hello everyone.
I’m new to Kotlin and I’m still playing with it to learn it. As an exercise, I was writing a function to check if two strings are an anagram of each other. To implement this my idea was to go through the first string and, for each character, delete the first occurrence of that character from the second string. I also delete spaces since I want to ignore them. Then if the second string is empty the two strings are anagrams, otherwise not. This is my function:

fun anagram(string1: String, string2: String): Boolean{
if (strlenWithoutSpaces(string1)!=strlenWithoutSpaces(string2)) return false
var stringBuilder1= StringBuilder(string1)
var stringBuilder2=StringBuilder(string2)

for(index1 in stringBuilder1.indices){
    if (stringBuilder1.get(index1).equals(' ')) continue
    for (index2 in stringBuilder2.indices){
        if (stringBuilder1.get(index1).equals(stringBuilder2.get(index2))) stringBuilder2.deleteCharAt(index2)
        else if (stringBuilder2.get(index2).equals(' ')) stringBuilder2.deleteCharAt(index2)
    }
}

if(stringBuilder2.isEmpty()) return true   //string2 can be empty and not an anagram of string1 only if they differ in size, but I've checked for it at the beginning
return false

}