Trying to understand variance, but I think my book explanation is inaccurate

I’m currently studying generics and I’m trying to understand variance, “in”, and “out”. However, it seems to me that there are some inaccuracies in the book I’m studying. The book I’m reading gives the following code as an intentional example of an error that occurs:

class Barrel <T> (var item: T)

open class Loot(val value: Int)

class Fedora (val name: String, value: Int) : Loot(value)

class Coin (value: Int) : Loot(value)

fun main() {
    var fedoraBarrel : Barrel<Fedora> = Barrel(Fedora("a generic-looking fedora", 15))
    var lootBarrel: Barrel<Loot> = Barrel(Coin(15))

lootBarrel = fedoraBarrel //type mismatch error here
}

Because this code hasn’t specified the variance for the generic Barrel() class, the last line-- lootBarrel = fedoraBarrel --gives a type mismatch error.

The chapter attempts to explain why by walking through what COULD happen if the compiler allowed this code and this code succeeded.

Forgive my longevity here, I’d just rather quote from the book than attempt to summarize due to my poor understanding of the concept:

If the compiler allowed you to assign the fedoraBarrel instance to the lootBarrel variable, lootBarrel would then point to fedoraBarrel, and it would be possible to interface with fedoraBarrel’s item as Loot, instead of Fedora (because of lootBarrel’s type, Barrel<Loot>).

For example, a coin is valid Loot, so it would be possible to assign a coin to lootBarrel.item (which points to fedoraBarrel).

fun main() {
    var fedoraBarrel : Barrel<Fedora> = Barrel(Fedora("a generic-looking fedora", 15))

lootBarrel = fedoraBarrel
    lootBarrel.item = Coin(15) //new line of code added here. This is also a type mismatch.
}

So far so good. I understand this. lootBarrel’s declared type is Barrel<Loot>, and changing the value of lootBarrel to equal fedoraBarrel doesn’t change it’s declared type.