Understanding Kotlin's coroutines performance

Hi, everybody, I’m kind of new in a Kotlin, but I’ve got a few questions already. Fortunately, about a single topic)

Somewhere in the Kotlin’s documentation, developers have mentioned the fact, that coroutines are lightweight. But how “lightweight” they actually are in comparison to, for example, Elixir processes? Is it okay to spawn thousands of coroutines in Kotlin to develop in “fail fast” manner? How fast they are spawning in comparison with threads?

Hi there,

I’m not an elixir user, nor a coroutine expert but i’m gonna give it a shot.

Coroutines are a simple compiler trick, you transform a method containing suspension points into a huge switch case where each case is the code between two suspension points. There is a whole bunch of machinery above that to correctly pass contexts around but you get the idea.

This allows us to create thousands of coroutines whithout problem, their cost is a few bytes of memory for the internal objects they allocate. If you are interested I suggest you take a look at what the Kotlin/JS compiler produces when dealing with coroutines, it’s really interesting and it helps you understand the underlying machinery a bit better.

Threads are what coroutines are dispatched to, they are simple workers that execute code until reaching the next suspension point. This architecture is light in term of memory, and in term of scheduling for the OS, you can execute a lot of coroutines on the same threads easily, allowing you to decrease the number of threads your app needs, reducing the number of context-switch.

Another good thing with coroutines is that it is way easier to correctly do concurrency (with things like the actor paradigm