Use of UTF8 Identifiers

I recently coded with Julia and this language support UTF8 identifiers as \pi or \sqrt. It’s possible to add some kind of UTF-8 identifiers that will be translated into textual ASCII for Java compatibility.
For example, we will have this code :

val π = 3.14... // in Kotlin (accessible by \pi)

should be compiled into

double pi = 3.14...

and

val π  = 3.14
val pi = 3.14 // Redefinition of val pi

should fail because π == pi as an identifier.

Those identifiers allow to have a clearer syntax for mathematical purposes like:

fun f(x: Number) = √(x + 3x.²)
fun g(x: Number) = 4 * x + 5
typealias MFunction = (Number) -> Number
infix MFunction.○(f: MFunction) = { x: Number -> this(f(x)) }
val h = g ○ f
1 Like

I think it is generally a bad idea since it creates a hell of the problem for tooling and works differently for different IDEs to say nothing about breaking compatibility with everything. I have some experience with UTF-8 identifiers in BlackBox (Oberon-2) environment. It could be nice read, but terrible to write and maintain.
Kotlin allows to use any natural names for identifiers if they are in backticks and I think it is a reasonable compromise.

Thank’s for your response. So maybe instead of adding this feature directly in the language maybe it will be better to create some kind of plugin for an IDE that will transform the appearance of some identifiers like `pi` or `sqrt`.

With the latex completion for Atom I’m able to write this code (it’s executable).

typealias MFunction = (Double) -> Double

infix fun MFunction.`∘`(f: MFunction): MFunction = { x -> this(f(x))}
fun `√`(x: Double) = Math.sqrt(x)

val Double.`²` get() = Math.pow(this, 2.0)

val f: MFunction = { x -> `√`(x + (3 * x).`²`) } 
val g: MFunction = { x -> 4 * x + 5 }

fun main(args: Array<String>) {

val h = g `∘` f

val π = 3.14
  println(h(π))

}

I think with some improvements for readability it should be usable.

1 Like