Visual Layout (Scene Builder)

I’ve discovered Kotlin in AndroidStudio 3 two weeks ago, and I like it (as I’m a lasy coder :wink:)
2 Android apps for test purposes were very easily to programm and work fine.

Now I have to take the decision wether I’ll stuck on Kotlin, or switch back to JavaFX 8 for my Win 10 programs.
To stay on Kotlin I MUST have a visual tool (for design, XML and CSS …) like SceneBuilder

I couldn’t find a tool like this for Kotlin, but unfortunatly I have to maintain several programs.
Is there a (free) tool like Scene Builder for Kotlin?

(So far I’m working with Eclipse. But I can change the IDE.
… but I’ll not work on two language systems on my everyday work.)

@sirtom - Are you referring to Kotlin on Android only? Kotlin has a third party framework for JavaFX called TornadoFX, which has FXML support. Highly advisable when using TornadoFX to use its DSL instead of FXML to define views. There is even an option to hot reload views in TornadoFX (Hot Reload JavaFX Views with TornadoFx - YouTube), which provides very nice but reasonably responsive visual feedback.

1 Like

You can use your javafx FXML applications as is in kotlin (without any additional libraries). But I also recommend tornadofx DSL instead, at least for simple constructs. For complicated things tornadofx fxml delegate works like charm.

Are you referring to Kotlin on Android only?

No, for android I use AndroidStudio. It has everything I need.

For my Win10 Programs I’m looking for some visual tool.
I got aware of TornadoFX but didn’t find a neat tutorial, nor videos.
furthermore “hit reload” (whicht I’ve seen already) makes exact the opposit of my wishes:
* I have to CODE to see the result,

• but I’ld like to stitch the result visualy to GET the XML- and CSS-files!

My goal is: 1 Language + Visual editors for all programming
Android: → Kotlin in AndroidStudio
Windows: → Kotlin + XXXXX ? (SceneBuilder doesnt work)