Add gradle to existing Kotlin IDEA project

In fact, I have more than one question described in title but they all are linked together.

1. Do I have to use gradle with my incredibly simple project (e.g. test project which I want to use for playing with Kotlin, some libraries and frameworks, checking how smth works etc.) if I need to have there a package management but don’t need any build system (idea can build simple projects itself, right?) ?

2. Do I have to learn Groovy to write build scripts for such projects as described above (or maybe a bit more complicated projects) ? I’m actually confused about necessity of build scripts. I have some experience with Rust and Cargo, for example: cargo can build most projects without any build scripts but it supports them for special needs, so it’s not necessary for a newbie to even know anything about build scripts until he first time faces the need to use them. Java build systems like Gradle or Maven are much more hard to understand for a newbie, because he needs to specially learn them before he can use them for even simplest tasks. Correct me pls if I’m wrong here.

3. I’ve created a simple Kotlin/JVM project (without Gradle) in IDEA and already wrote some code. Then I understood that I need Gradle there to manage some packages (I’m too lazy to search JARs around the web, download them, collect in special folder, declare CLASSPATHs etc.). How should I add a minimal graddle support into that project and make IDEA understand it and use it?

Very huge thanks in advance for detailed response. :slight_smile:

1. No, you don’t. Idea’s JPS works just fine for small projects. I would still recommend gradle for something more complicated. And you have to use gradle for Android (it is definitely complicated).