Creating an IntelliJ IDEA Project w/ Kotlin + Gradle

I feel like this should have been very easy, but I’ve been banging my head against the wall about this for some time. All that I want is to create a Kotlin project in IntelliJ IDEA using Gradle as my build system. I will admit that I’m not savvy with Gradle, but understand it’s importance. I am trying to do this in order to get better at coroutines in Kotlin.

My first question is, if I want a Kotlin + Gradle project, do I start by:

• Create a Kotlin project
  • Create a Gradle project

With the former, I don’t see any build.gradle files in my project directory. With the latter, I do see a build.gradle, although in a format that I’m not as familiar with (I am an Android developer). Here is what my build.gradle looks like so far:

plugins {
id 'java'
id 'org.jetbrains.kotlin.jvm' version '1.3-M2'
}

version '1.0-SNAPSHOT'

sourceCompatibility = 1.8

repositories {
    maven {     url 'http://dl.bintray.com/kotlin/kotlin-eap' }
    mavenCentral()
}

dependencies {
    compile "org.jetbrains.kotlin:kotlin-stdlib-jdk8"
    testCompile group: 'junit', name: 'junit', version: '4.12'
    implementation 'org.jetbrains.kotlinx:kotlinx-coroutines-core:1.0.1'
}

compileKotlin {
    kotlinOptions.jvmTarget = "1.8"
}
compileTestKotlin {
    kotlinOptions.jvmTarget = "1.8"
}

With this set up, I have the following very basic coroutine implementation:

import kotlinx.coroutines.GlobalScope
import kotlinx.coroutines.delay
import kotlinx.coroutines.launch

fun main(args: Array<String>) {
    GlobalScope.launch { // launch new coroutine in background and continue
        delay(1000L) // non-blocking delay for 1 second (default time unit is ms)
        println("World!") // print after delay
    }
    println("Hello,") // main thread continues while coroutine is delayed
    Thread.sleep(2000L) // block main thread for 2 seconds to keep JVM alive
}