Delegate to pair

Hello,
I am new to the Kotlin language and I would like to achieve something that maybe doesn’t make sense, but lets see.
So I am using Pair<out Float, out Float> in pair context, so I thought that maybe I can create my own class Point with delegating x and y to first and second properties.
Yes, I am aware that there is a class Point, but for a learning purpose lets say that there is not.
Is there a way to delegate properties to Pair properties?

I’m not sure what do you want to achieve. What do you mean by “delegating x and y to first and second properties” and “delegate properties to Pair properties”? Could you provide some example?

I can use Pair<out Float, out Float> in a class and use .first and .second properties from it, but I would like to use x and y properties, so it is more readable.
So I would like to do something like:

data class Point(val pair: Pair<out Float, out Float>)
{
var x: Float by pair
var y: Float by pair
}

so then I can use Point with x and y like it is Pair<out Float, out Float> with first and second properties.
Maybe it’s not possible since Pair doesn’t have default method for get and set?

You can do it like this:

data class Point(val pair: Pair<out Float, out Float>) {
    val x: Float by pair::first
    val y: Float by pair::second
}

But you need to make properties val. It would be impossible to delegate writable props to read-only props.

Also, what is the point of delegating in this case? Wouldn’t it make more sense to just copy floats instead of delegating them?

edit:
Or maybe I’ll ask in a different way. What is wrong/missing in simple:

data class Point(
    val x: Float,
    val y: Float,
)
1 Like

Well I guess your example is perfectly correct, but since I am learning kotlin I have many that kind of questions.
As far as I understand your example is good enough because Pair doesn’t provide any methods? But if it would be complex class then delegating properties would have more sense?