Does it make sense to learn Kotlin with no prior Java experience?

Ні!
I’ve been learning how to program for for 6 months so far. I started with Python but then switched to C and found hard but quite fun to explore and work with.

By now I’m almost done with CS50, online course by Harvard University, and want to learn a new programming language. Kotlin seems attractive to me, as I want to learn how to write Android apps as well, but I’m in quandary.

The question: Would it be reasonable to start learning Kotlin now for the guy like me, or the prior knowledge of Java is the must?

Hi there!

Knowledge of Java is not a must. As I see, Kotlin borrowed something from Python and other languages, so you will not feel yourself altogether lost trying to get acquainted with it.

Also Kotlin is not Java :slight_smile: Many things in it are sensibly different.

The different thing is that learning Kotlin to more advanced, professional scale - this will require some java (perhaps advanced too) for certain. Kotlin is built upon java infrastructure so many java tools (e.g. maven / gradle, certain libraries etc) could be (and perhaps should be) naturally utilized.

You also may find that significant amount of tutorials expect of you some knowledge of java. But I believe you’ll be able to overcome it.

I think this might be the main issue with Kotlin and “rookies”. Kotlin borrows a lot, but also hides a lot and expects you to know the internals to actually understand what’s going on. At the same time if offers a lot of “shortcuts” which can help creating an easier to read code, if used correctly. But if used without any deeper understanding of why these shortcuts exist in the first place? I’m sure this could end up in a disaster :slight_smile:

So, answering the original question: