How to change output generated based on input?

I’m new to Kotlin language and I am currently attempting to write some code that would take a user created opcode, match it to a template and change the result of the output based on the parameters set in the opcode. An example would be an assignment of a number to a variable with the opcode looking like BN(=A=1); the result of this opcode would be a string that contains A = 1. However if I have multiple variables and numbers I would need to do multiple if statements to account for that and it would not be efficient. For example instead of the previous example if I was now given the opcode BN(=X=55) I would like to be able to assign X = 55. Is there anyway to do this? So far I have a function that takes the opcode and outputs some code in Python as a string which I then write to a file. Any assistance is appreciated.

fun lookUp(Opcode:String): String
    {
        var code = ""
        if (Opcode != null) {
            if (Opcode == "SS;") {
                code = "#!/usr/bin/env pybricks-micropython\n" +
                        "from pybricks.hubs import EV3Brick\n" +
                        "from pybricks.ev3devices import (Motor, TouchSensor, ColorSensor,\n" +
                        "                                 InfraredSensor, UltrasonicSensor, GyroSensor)\n" +
                        "from pybricks.parameters import Port, Stop, Direction, Button, Color\n" +
                        "from pybricks.tools import wait, StopWatch, DataLog\n" +
                        "from pybricks.robotics import DriveBase\n" +
                        "from pybricks.media.ev3dev import SoundFile, ImageFile\n" +
                        "import math\n" +
                        "motor1 = Motor(Port.B)\n" +
                        "motor2 = Motor(Port.C)\n"
            }
            if (Opcode == "BN(=X=5);") {
                code = "x = 5\n"
            }
            if (Opcode == "BN(=Y=7);") {
                code = "y = 7\n"