How to derive type from other property type

I am relatively new to Kotlin and typed languages. Looking for some advice on to best implement my data models in Kiotlin.

Here is my current code:

data class Commitment(
	val type: CommitmentType = CommitmentType,
	val configuration: CommitmentConfiguration,
	etc...
)

sealed interface CommitmentConfiguration {
    val title: String get() = ""
	etc...
}

data class BindingCommitmentConfiguration(
    val strictMode: Boolean = false,
	etc...
) : CommitmentConfiguration

enum class CommitmentType {
    Binding,
    NonBinding,
    Legal
}

Given a Commitment instance, what is the “correct” way to infer the CommitmentConfiguration type, from the CommitmentType?

Currently, I am doing the following:

when(commitment.type){
	Binding -> doSomething(commitment.config as BindingCommitmentConfiguration),
	else {...}
}

This seems inefficient, as I have to explicitly cast the config, even though it’s type is fixed given the CommitmentType.

I have considered using generics,

data class Commitment<T: CommitmentConfiguration>(
	val configuration: T,
	etc...
)

Would make more sense to use <T: CommitmentType>, but I don’t see how to automatically derive the configuration type based on that.

As well as subtypes,

data class BindingCommitment(
	val configuration: T,
	etc...
) : Commitment(type, configuration)

This would result in lots of duplication of parameters and really large classes.

I understand this is a subjective question. But I am just trying to get a better understand on how this would typically be done in Kotlin.

As you already use a sealed interface for CommitmentConfiguration, would it be sufficient for you to ignore the type property at all and simply check the type?

when(val configuration = commitment.configuration){
    is BindingCommitmentConfiguration -> doSomething(configuration)
}

This is a common pattern in languages that support sealed types. They often replace enums entirely.

1 Like