Kotlin and Android

I'm an Android developer, so the first thing I wondered, after getting "Hello World" in Kotlin running in IntelliJ is:  I wonder if I can already use Kotlin for an Android app?!

So I decided to do a simple test, I created a simple android app, and made sure it was working.  Then I created a kotlin file with a class and a simple method (which just returned “Hello from Kotlin”) and I called it from an Android activity.  But, after I added the kotlin jar to my project, the app no longer worked, I kept getting the error INSTALL_FAILED_DEXOPT when I tried to run it.   I could not find on google what this error message meant.  So I’m wondering if anyone knows the reason for this.  Should Kotlin theoritically work with android at this point?  Maybe it’s something simple that needs to be fixed?

Great work on Kotlin, it’s impressive to see it working in IntelliJ!

AFAIU, Kotlin should theoretically work with Android at this point, but you were the first to actually try it there. Did you try what these guys suggest? http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5153515/how-to-solve-install-failed-dexopt-this-error

Thanks!

Yes, I did try the things suggested in this post (uninstalling app/wiping app data).  That didn't help.

Also, unrelated to this issue, but something that caught me by surprise is that when I downloaded IntelliJ 11.1 and installed Kotlin, and then when I quit that and went back to IntelliJ 11, I wasn’t expecting Kotlin to be installed. I didn’t realize that plugins would be shared between two IntelliJ installations.  Is this the expected behavior?  I’m asking because the Kotlin plugin was preventing me from compiling my non-Kotlin project in IntelliJ 11!

thanks!

Unfortunately, I don't know what to say about the Android issue, we didn't do anything about Android so far.