Kotlin and Machine Learning

I’ve been doing Java heavily for a few years, and last year I got a really good grip on Kotlin. My workplace has asked if I could learn R and machine learning. I just started doing that and it has piqued my interest.

I know there are a few Java libraries for machine learning and some book titles are slowly emerging this year on Java for machine learning. I’m not quite sure if this will cause a flood of ML users to switch to Java.

Part of me thinks that Java never really caught on for machine learning because it is cumbersome and not as tactical or nimble as Python, and it isn’t mathematics/statistics focused like R. I suppose it could just be catching up to the machine-learning movement that recently got prominence.

But is it possible Kotlin could make the Java platform a practical alternative for ML instead of Python? I’ve noticed Kotlin is a highly nimble, tactical language without compromising performance and scalability. Do you think it could make a sizable entrance as a machine-learning solution, contingent on the right libraries being developed?

4 Likes

It might help a bit in the sense that it’s a better language than Java and the syntax is more suited to prototyping than Java’s. But for heavy numeric/scientific work on the JVM the Valhalla project will be needed, as that’s how to get support for things like very wide numbers, complex numbers, etc with acceptable performance.

Also, Kotlin can be a bit clunky for doing lots of math. If you’ve got some functions that really want Double and others that really want Float (e.g., all the trig functions in java.util.Math take Double, and most of the Android drawing calls want Float), then you’re doing a ton of .toDouble() and .toFloat(). Kotlin, for better or for worse, has all sorts of places where you find yourself writing these sorts of explicit coercions. (Kotlin hides this in many common cases, and I know they’ve got good reasons, but… it still feels painful sometimes.)