Kotlin Multiplatform Mobile Alpha

Hi everyone!
Have you seen the latest news from the Kotlin team?
Kotlin Multiplatform Mobile (KMM) is now Alpha!
What do you think about this product?

1 Like

Yes!
Very excited to see this!

I’m a serverside developer but I’ve been eyeing mobile. I have some experience toying with Flutter/Dart and for the last year I’ve been on the fence about if I’d use Kotlin (either just android or multiplatform) vs flutter–but this release squarely puts me on the side of experimenting on mobile with Kotlin.

Most of my concerns were related to dependencies, emulator, a good starting point example, and having an existing trail for proven success.

I haven’t read the case studies yet but seeing that KMM isn’t going to be dropped and will continue to have support is great! For example, I found this skimming a use-case:

After the release of Kotlin 1.4, KMM is in Alpha status. It means that you can use it in production and the Kotlin team is fully committed to continue working on this technology, improving and evolving it further, and won’t suddenly drop it.

1 Like

Nice to hear!
Hope, you will enjoy the product and will be inspired by case studies!
I would recommend to start building your first cross-platform application with KMM from this step-by-step guide

1 Like

I’m going to switch my app to this amazing tool, but I found a big problem! switching to this tool, my codebase is full of errors because Synthetic is not found and all imports are broken…
I opened a discussion yesterday herehttps://discuss.kotlinlang.org/t/synthetic-not-available-in-new-kmm-example-project/18997.

PS nice work!! :slight_smile:

Good afternoon,

reviewing the use cases that you mention on the kotlin blog (https://blog.jetbrains.com/kotlin/2020/08/kotlin-multiplatform-mobile-goes-alpha/), and entering each of the following cases of I use, I find the following weights of the apps, both on iOS and Android.-

----------------