Overloading == with different types of operands

Newbie here. Hopefully I’m missing something.

I’m building a library for exact fractional decimal math using operator overloading. The arithmetic operators work. The fact that assignment overloading is not supported is inconvenient for the application programmer using the library, but it’s not a showstopper. However, I’ve just now bumped into what I really hope is my mistake. Here’s the general outline of the code:

class Num : Comparable<Any> {
    override fun equals(other: Any?): Boolean { ... }
    override fun compareTo(other: Any): Int { ... }
}

All comparisons between Num and Num work, and the < <= > >= comparisons between Num and Int, Long and Double also work, but the second of these lines of code fails to compile:

val x = Num(10)  // means initialize a Num variable with the integer value ten
    if (x == 10) ...

The compiler error message is Operator ‘==’ cannot be applied to ‘Num’ and ‘Int’

Am I missing something? I’m hoping this is just a bug - that’s why I posted it in Support instead of Language Design. If it is disallowed by the Kotlin language design, will that be changed? If so, when?

TIA

Look here for documentation. Operator overloading requires additional keyword operator.

1 Like

The Kotlin in Action books says…

there are no specific functions for overloading the six comparative operators. Instead the compiler just uses equals( ) and compareTo( ), and that those methods are not marked with the operator keyword.

That said, the problem isn’t in the implementation of Num, the problem is that the compiler flags it as an error.

Note that

if (x >= 10 && x <= 10) ...

compiles and works fine!

What you’re trying to do, doesn’t work in any case. The equals() contract requires that if a.equals(b) then also b.equals(a) (see Effective Java for example). You can’t change the Int class to make it’s equals return true when you give your Num as argument.