(Solved) Change Adapter from other Class (null errors)

Hello,

I am new to Kotlin, but am enjoying programming with it. But now I run into a problem. I have a fragment (ContactsFragment) which loads data from an URL into a ListView, via a List. This all works fine.

Now I would like to add a new contact, from my activity (AddContactActivity). So I make an https POST request and get a new list of contacts back. So far everything works correct.But now I would like to update the ListView to show the new list. But I can’t get that to work. Not via calling a function from the ContactsFragment class (then I have context problems on creating the new adapter), but also not by creating a local new adapter and assigning that to the list view.

This is my code:

override fun success(list: List<Contact>, response: Response) {
              val adapter = ContactsAdapter(getApplicationContext(), list)
              contacts_list.adapter = adapter
          }

But I get a null exception error to the contact_list at the moment. How can I update the contact_list (or the adapter) to show the new list?

(I call the Acitivity from a particular button, but that just shows a new layout, whereas the new updated list is only retrieved after a button click on that layout (so I cannot add any parameters to the activity start).

Thanks in advance!

Is it a compiler error or a runtime error?
Can contacts_list be null?

try:

contacts_list?.adapter = adapter

Thanks for your reply. It is a runtime error. It get the error in LogCat when I try to add the contact.

Your code does solve the runtime error, but I do not get the new list presented in my ListView
(sounds reasonable, since contacts_list somehow is null, but I do not understand (yet) how to call the variable (update the adapter) from within the activity)

Can you post the exception you get?
Where contacts_list comes from?

Looks like you are never initializing contacts_list.