Thread safe Data Structures in Kotlin

Hi, I’m new in Kotlin and also new CS student However I trying hard to follow the back-end Developer path and studying Data Structures and I wondered if kotlin have thread safe classes like java or not such as vector class , hashtable and so on… , thanks in advance.

Kotlin can use any java class as long as you target the jvm (this is the default). For that reason the kotlin standard library generally doesn’t provide those classes itself.

2 Likes

thanks a lot ,I totally understand this , but I don’t understand how could it be possible that kotlin supported by jvm and it’s standard library doesn’t support or provide those classes ? could you elaborate more ?
appreciate this so much .

For things like HashTable, Java docs recommends using ConcurrentHashMap instead.

I thought thread-safe collections had fallen out of favor? At least I remember reading somewhere that you should try not to use them and instead synchronize the usage points.

Of course, if you’re worried about thread-safety of some data than that data is probably the infamous “shared mutable state”. It might be a sign to considering changing the design to avoid shared mutable state if synchronizing the usage points is tedious.

Kotlin’s stdlib is small. It’s a major goal of Kotlin not to replace Java, but to integrate and interop with Java code. If there’s a Java library already available, you should use that instead of inventing a completely new wheel. And if I have an existing Java library, I should be able to add Kotlin code along side it without introducing a large stdlib. You’re somewhat expected to use the JVM stdlib (or other common platform specific libraries) in your Kotlin code.

The Kotlin stdlib has grown over the years but even still the goal is not to include everything–a lot of library additions are done as separate libraries (Kotlinx libraries). Even things such as time keeping, coroutines, and serialization aren’t included in the core stdlib.