Ability to learn Kotlin for 1st Lang

Am I able to learn Kotlin as my 1st programming lang or is it recommended to learn Java or any other programming lang 1st?

1 Like

Yes, you can learn Kotlin as a first language. I would recommend doing that.

1 Like

What method do you think is the best way to learn it (book, online course, etc.)?

Start with Kotlin Docs | Kotlin. Then you can try Kotlin Basics – JetBrains Academy — Learn programming by building your own apps. Then select your own project and start working on it. I do not recommend to start with Android.

1 Like

Hi,
I think java virtual machine would not help you to understand computing.
@darksnake did you start programming langage with java?

I started programming about 1997. There was no Java then. But I’ve been working on Java since 2006-2007 and completely moved to Kotlin in 2018.

I did not understand statement about JVM (and you do not need to work in Java to understand JVM).

1 Like

I think jvm hide memory management and for a beginner it will not really help to understand computing.

Memory management is not a part of modern application-level programming and it is very good. All modern languages feature automatic memory management (it is not only JVM). Memory management is important for systems programming, but it is a very narrow niche.

Memory layouts are sometimes important for high performance computing. But it is not a thing that newbie programmers should focus on. Focusing on performance before you can write a program is a very bad practice that sadly characteristic for old-school programming teachers.

9 Likes

That’s your point of view. But I don’t talk about performance.
For function parameter adress or value I think you need to understand what is memory.
Before an array copy too.