Will Java always be a prerequisite to learning Kotlin and other JVM languages?

Perhaps I am getting ahead of myself since Kotlin is so new, but I’m very excited by the language. I’m a technical writer and I am playing with the idea of proposing a beginner’s book on Kotlin in a year or two. The absolute beginner’s market has kind of become my niche, but I am wrestling with a question if there is or ever will be such a market for Kotlin. It seems every alternative JVM language requires prerequisite knowledge on Java, and almost all documentation requires it too.

It makes sense that Kotlin would need a rapid widespread adoption to become a “first language to learn” candidate. But there will always be Java code in both legacy and new applications, and arguably Kotlin requires you understand the abstraction and the implementations that are done for you (hashcode/equals, delegation, etc)

Do you think Kotlin will become a good “first language”? Or will Java knowledge always be a prerequisite for the foreseeable future?

Right now it’s true that all/most existing learning materials on Kotlin are focused on people with Java experience. This happens because right now Kotlin is focused on applications within the Java ecosystem, and we can save efforts by not explaining things that Java developers already know about. In the future, when JavaScript becomes a first-class supported target for Kotlin, we will no longer be able to rely on the fact that people already know Java, and we will have to explain everything from the very beginning.

It’s difficult for me to judge whether Kotlin is good as a “first language”, but if not, it won’t be because all documentation relies on Java.

I have some written material that might fit into this category which I
would be happy to share with the Kotlin community. The approach is not
to consider Kotlin as an improved Java but instead a new language.
Experience in Java is then not expected. Since Kotlin is a JVM language