Source code converter from Python to Kotlin?

Hello,
I am very new to Kotlin but I can code in Python as well as Java, C# and C.
Prior to posting here I did Google for the answer but alas did not find anything.

As you may know IntelliJ IDEA provides a tool that converts Java source code into Kotlin source code.
I just used it quite successfully on one of my Java projects.

I am looking for something similar that converts Python source code into Kotlin source code.
I hope this is the right forum, please advise.

Many thanks.

I do not believe there is one, and possibly there will never be. Java to Kotlin converter is possible because they have similar structure and are based on the same libraries (at least for JVM). Python on the other hand has completely different structure. It is a dynamic language and it strongly affects the programming style, so even if someone would write a converter, it would produce ugly and non-ideomatic kotlin code.

Could you probably explain your use case? Maybe there is a better way.

2 Likes

many thanks!

More background.

I was just looking for some tools to help migrate existing Python code to Kotlin, it does not need to do 100%, even if it does 75%, it may help.

For example - we have a lot of Python/PySpark running on Apache Spark which is a JVM ecosystem.
It would (IMO) help the adoption of Kotlin in Big Data Apache Spark ecosystem to be able to convert PySpark programs (i.e. Python Spark) code into Kotlin Spark.

I believe Kotlin can run on Apache Spark due to its 100% compatibility with the JVM on which Scala/Java run. So this is my primary use case - migrate from PySpark to Kotlin on Apache Spark.